• Question: Who named the Slow Loris?

    Asked by jemappellelauren to Tim, Jo on 25 Jun 2010 in Categories: .
    • Photo: Joanna Buckley

      Joanna Buckley answered on 25 Jun 2010:

      Oooh, I have no idea. They are so cute though 🙂

      They’re not very quick so maybe that’s where the slow bit comes from?!

    • Photo: Tim Craggs

      Tim Craggs answered on 25 Jun 2010:

      Hey Lauren, good to chat earlier!

      I don’t know the answer to this one, I am afraid, but apparently there are three types of slow loris:

      The slow loris is any one of three species of loris classified in the genus Nycticebus: Sunda Slow Loris (Nycticebus coucang), Bengal Slow Loris (Nycticebus bengalensis) and Pygmy Slow Loris (Nycticebus pygmaeus).

      The Pygmy Loris is really cute here is a picture:

      HUGE eyes!